Choosing the right pathway for you

JCoSS offers two pathways, designed to complement the individuality of our students with a variety of types of learning.  We offer A level and Cambridge Technical qualifications: the differences and entry qualifications are set out below.

A Level pathway

A Levels adopt a traditional academic approach, with exams at the end of the course, usually taking two years’ full-time education in Years 12 and 13. The vast majority of students will take 3 linear A Levels as well as an Extended Project Qualification (EPQ): this is a guided independent study project on a topic of the student’s choice, highly regarded by Universities. Some students may be able to take 4 subjects across the two years.
Students who take A Levels need to be comfortable performing in exams and in learning and retaining information. They should be happy undertaking independent research and making their own detailed notes, reading and writing extended pieces.

Entry Qualifications: 6 GCSEs at Grade 6 or higher, and at least a Grade 4 in English and Maths. (NB individual subjects may have additional requirements.)
Year 12 and 13 Programme: 3 subjects and an EPQ or 4 subjects studied to A Level exams in the summer of Year 13.
Typical Post School Destination: University

Vocational pathway

The OCR Cambridge Technical is a highly-respected A Level equivalent, offering a mix of theory and practical work. They usually take 2 years’ study, with a variety of methods of assessment. A Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate has the same value and study time as an A level, with a Diploma being equivalent to 2 A Levels.
Students who take Cambridge Technicals tend to enjoy project based learning, are comfortable working in groups and are able to meet deadlines.
They are students who wish to gain more knowledge about working in a specific industry, and who want to gain practical as well as theoretical skills. There is an examined component within all the Cambridge Technicals, but this component makes up a smaller percentage of the overall qualification than in A Levels.

Entry Qualifications: 5 GCSEs at Grade 4 or higher.
Year 12 and 13 Programme: You may choose from one of the following options:
i) Three Cambridge Technical Extended Certificates
(equivalent to 1 A Level each)
ii) One Cambridge Technical Diploma (equivalent to 2 A Levels) and one Technical Extended Certificate
(equivalent to 1 A Level)
Typical Post School Destination: University or Employment/Apprenticeship