Religious Studies A Level

Religious Studies A-Level enables students to:

• Develop their interest in a rigorous study of religion and belief and relate it to the wider world
• Develop knowledge and understanding appropriate to a specialist study of religion~
• Develop an understanding and appreciation of religious thought and its contribution to individuals, communities and societies
• Adopt an enquiring, critical and reflective approach to the study of religion
• Reflect on and develop their own values, opinions and attitudes in the light of their study.

This A Level course consists of Components A, B and C:

Component A: The study of religion – Judaism
There will be four themes within each option: religious figures and sacred texts; religious concepts and religious life; significant social and historical developments in religious thought; religious practices and religious identity.

Component B: Philosophy of religion
There will be four themes within this component: arguments for the existence of God; challenges to religious belief; religious experience; religious language.

Component C: Religion and ethics
There will be four themes within this component: ethical thought; deontological ethics; teleological ethics; determinism and free will.


This is a linear A-Level with 3x2hour exams at the end of year 13.  The three papers are equally weighted.


To be accepted onto the course students’ need at least a Grade 6 at GCSE English Language and/or English Literature and at least a grade 6 at religious studies GCSE if studied.

You do not need to hold any particular beliefs but a willingness to engage with religious and philosophical issues in discussion is more important. This course demands good essay writing skills: you will be set essays every fortnight, as well as independent learning tasks every week and will also be expected to read your own academic books on the subject.

Examination Board: EDUQAS